Thread: Heat Tolerance

Forum Member

Default Heat Tolerance

I've been a volunteer firefighter for going on a year and a half now and it seems like everytime the summer comes around, the drills just seem to get alot harder. In that year and a half I've had to stop drilling twice because the heat just gets to me. I'm a young guy, and I consider myself to be in decent shape; I run two or three miles everyday and lift weights etc. But despite this, I see guys who are out of shape and overweight be able to handle all the intense drills in 100 degree heat without having to sit out. This leads me to believe that I have a low heat tolerance which probably stems from the fact that I sweat alot. The body produces sweat to cool it down, so since I sweat alot, my body probably heats up more quickly which leads to a low heat tolerance. My question is this: Do any of you experience this, and if so, what can someone with a low heat tolerance do to get that extra push to finish a long and hard drill on a very hot day?

Forum Member

I've got the same problem. I hope someone has some help on this one. I get so sick from the heat I usually sleep most of the next day, and have landed in the emergency room on one occassion; not fun.

MembersZone Subscriber

I've got a stocky build, though I don't carry that much fat, and I sweat heavily as well. Skinny guys have it good because their high surface area to mass ratio (more skin area per pound) makes their cooling systems work much better than bigger guys. Think of it as an oversize radiator.

Unfortunately, there isn't much we can do about our body types.