Thread: Overkill?

Default Overkill?

Ok. Guys im not a FF, im just a EMT. Now we got toned out to a kitchen fire. They roll the trucks, en route we get called and told to cut sirens, bc the chief extinguished the fire before any trucks get there. As we pull up im in the jump seat in the back of the rig, I get out and see 1 ladder, 3 engines, a rescue, and a air/light. After talking to the chief, i found out it was caused by burning garlic bread. Now I dont know anything about fire's but to me this was way too much over kill. Especially for a volly dept. If I am wrong please correct me.

Forum Member

Default You are definetly WRONG!!!!!!!

QUOTE: "Ok. Guys im not a FF, im just a EMT. Now we got toned out to a kitchen fire."

-Kitchen Fire.....Another way of saying "Building Fire." You say they had three engines, a truck, a squad, an air/light unit, and EMS......Sounds like a decent, well equipped first alarm assignment for a building fire!

-Fire Chief arrived on location, found and extinguished an apparently small fire. No problem there. Slow down the incoming pieces and hold whats in the station there. Sounds like he is doing what is in the best interests of the community- slowing down all the apparatus, decreasing the possibility of accidents while responding.

Since you are new, just a reminder to you for if/when you drive the bus: It belongs FAR, FAR away from the fire scene! Don't block access for the Truck Company (In front of the address), don't block access for the Engine Company (usually one address in front of the fire address), don't block hydrants, and stay on the OTHER SIDE of the supply lines! That way you can get the bus to the hospital if someone needs transport!
    "Loyalty Above all Else. Except Honor."