Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
Closed Thread

Default New to the Firehouse

I'm new to the Firehouse and was wondering if any experienced firefighters can give me tips on suceeding in the application process for suburban departments. Right now I'm in the process of getting my EMT-B and hopefully my paramedic certificate after that, but I was wondering what else I can do to make myself more presentable to fire departments around the Chicagoland area. I'm also going to try to get onto a P.O.C. or rural department, but there aren't many around here. Any information would help and I'd really appreciate it. Thanks a lot, Tim.

MembersZone Subscriber dmleblanc's Avatar
    Not the end of the earth but I can see it from here...

Welcome aboard! I'm a volunteer myself, so I really can't offer any great advice on landing a position on a paid department. However, I think this website may be useful to you.....

http://www.eatstress.com/

Lots of good info....Captain Bob is a regular here.....Good luck!

MembersZone Subscriber

TMac,

how are you? I myself just got hired on as a PoC for a chicagoland fire department. The best thing that I can tell you is to test often and everywhere. The main thing that all other departments is going to look at is how much training THEY need to give you.. In short they dont want to spend all of the money so you need to invest some yourself. I just today got the results from my NREMT-B test and passed so after I finish my FF2 Academy I will be taking my Medic, if there is anything else that I can help you with just let me know and I will see what I can do
    Last edited by mojofarian; 09-08-2004 at 08:58 AM.

Forum Member