Default Ideas on inventory and daily checks

Hello this my first post and I am a newbie to this forum.
    I was just wondering if anyone had any good ideas on inventory issuses with daily checks on the trucks and maint. also. I am a driver/engineer in a small department in Alabama. We are constantly trying to find new ways of bettering our daily check sheets and basic inventory with all the equipment on the trucks . Any ideas would greatly be appreciated
    Thanks
    M Daniel
    Madison Fire and Rescue
    Last edited by mad251; 09-23-2004 at 02:47 AM.

MembersZone Subscriber

Label the compartment door with the contents of the compartment. On your daily check you can reference the label. Also have a spot for everything, just throwing a bunch of things in a compartment is unprofessional and delays their use at an incident.

Forum Member

Smile

Every Driver/Engineer should be totally familiar with every piece of equipment carried on their apparatus, where it is stored, and make sure it is back in it's place after a call or drill. Nothing is as frustrating as going to do your daily check list and finding something missing or finding something where is shouldn't be.

I've found that the biggest problem is usually one or two people who either aren't familiar with the way you have thing set up or just don't care where they put things.

Maybe we need to threaten the people who grab an axe, or nozzle, or adaptor, that if it isn't returned to where they got it when they're through with it, you intend to break some fingers !

MembersZone Subscriber

It may seem obvious, but one of the reasons for the apparatus inventory check is to make sure nothing is missing. But what do you do if something IS missing? Make sure you have a procedure to follow in this case that either ensures that the missing equipment is located or replaced AND that all the crews who might be assigned to the unit know the equipment status BEFORE they get toned out.