Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread

Default Shipboard Firefighting

I know there are some people out there in forum land with experience in this field and i'd like to get their input with some general information, hazards, and tricks for shipboard operations. I'm a student at a maritime academy (go engine!) approaching my first round of real shipboard training in October. As a volunteer ff, the cadet chief mate asked me to be on the fire party during our sea-term this winter. My only problem is that the fire party consists of officers and seniors, not sophomores like myself. I've never had any shipboard training and my first fire party training date is 2 weeks before my sophomore level fire training. I've been reading all of the texts I can get my hands on, but I'd really appreciate some input on the things I really should know and keep in consideration that differentiate shipboard firefighting from structural, land-based. Thanks for your help.

MembersZone Subscriber MalahatTwo7's Avatar
    Loco madidus effercio in rutilus effercio.

IFSTA has a really good FF book for shipboard firefighters - which of course it is titled I have a copy of that at home.

As for any special techniques or tricks, mostly those come from Knowing Your Ship, and that is a program that every person who serves at sea should participate in. Dkblram is our resident expert, on the civilian side of the house, my experience is entirely Canadian Navy related, but some basic rules apply no matter what.

Specifically ISOLATE AND CONFINE - ISOLATE AND CONFINE - ISOLATE AND CONFINE! KNOW YOU SHIP - KNOW YOUR SHIP - KNOW YOUR SHIP and Don't walk OVER the fire compartment... you might become a part of the space before you desire to.