Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Combo Fire Dept

MembersZone Subscriber

Question Combo Fire Dept

Im a full time firefighter on a combo fire dept, In the last 2 years the Vols, of my dept are doing less and less. For example the vols do not get in trouble for not doing their truck checks, they do not clean the station at all, but they do like it to wash their vehcials . They are not even required to ride the engine when we are short staffed (which is most of the summer and weekends).The Chiefs keep giving them more and more,(money)and the paid guys get less credit for the work we do. And we are expected to help with fundraisers on our off time. How as a firefighter can I fix this problem, Please remember Im not anti Vol. but at the same time the paid guys do all the repairs, house work and don't get a thanks. There are special SOPs so when they are here for training the are to take the call and we sit here (duty crew). but they still don't get up for the call. and we take it. What do I DO....
    Last edited by CFDENGINE512; 09-16-2004 at 09:20 AM.

FH Mag/.com Contributor

I've got the same issue, different angle. The issue boils down to: how do you motivate those that aren't receiving paychecks.