MembersZone Subscriber

Default written test question

I recently took a written test for a F.D. and am baffled by the psych type questions that were at the end .

The first 105 questions on the test were fairly simple, fire related, math related, the last 50 questions were all requiring a response like "Stongly agree / Agree / Disagree / Strongly Disagree "

I know it is likely that they are using my responses to fit me into a personality profile but how can I do better at this type of questioning. It almost seems like being set up to fail no matter how you answer the questions??

I am a Career Firefighter / EMT of 6 years now and I think a really competant one but this test makes me wonder if I will even make it to the interview because I have no clue how I did yet and it is really bugging me.

Anyone with any insight or past experience in taking this type of test? Please reply with any helpful hints for next time.

Default TEST QUESTIONS

Sounds like a test I took recently. Who did (fire dept.) you test for? That would help narrow it down alittle.

The test I took was by the CWH Management soulutions company. This is a test used by alot of departments in VA,MD areas. This has to be one of the worse fire department tests I have seen in awhile when it comes to the emotion and stress questions. You can get all of the questions right in the problem solving area, but when it comes to the psych. questions if you score poor in that area your overall score drops fast.

But it is a cheaper way for these departments to test people. Hire a company to publish and grade a test instead of having the human resource department do it. It is very cost effective solution.