MembersZone Subscriber

Since I recently moved into my First Due Area, if I feel the need to respond from home, I will just drop my POV off at the Station and take a Command Vehicle home with me and either respond to the station or to the scene(depending upon the location of the call). My car is how I make my living, If I wreck my car racing to the Firehouse, I can't go to work and my family doesn't eat. Some things are more important than the Fire Department.
    Proud Right-Wing Extremist since 1992

"Extreme Liberalism is a Mental Disorder"- Michael Savage

Default lights in my vehicle

I stayed away from this one for a while now, but I'll chip in my two cents.

On my vehicle, which is an SUV, I have put a dual Green LED dashlight, dual Green LED grill-light, and Red-Amber LED slimlighter in the back of my vehicle.

Now granted that this may be a little to much for any POV, I put my safety above everything else, so I believe this is a necessary set-up. In our district we have on-duty crews at the ambulance base, but when a second call comes in we are on scramble, and I choose to respond to a great number of those calls. These lights get me to the base in around 5 minutes or less.

People on both sides of the road will get out of my way (even though they don't have to) It makes it a lot easier to respond to emergency calls. Also the red-amber in the rear helps at MVA scenes and to alert vehicles behind me that I may be responding to their house.

In the end I believe if placed in the correct vehicle with a driver who understands the purpose, courtesy lights are a great asset to responders. Those who abuse it put drivers around us in danger.

Forum Member