In Rhode Island Red lights, no siren, with Chiefs consent.

MembersZone Subscriber

I hadn't planned on commenting on this, and I apologize if I've brought up an old dead thread. I was just looking through some archives (I'm new here at this forum, and I'm not sure about what has been discussed and what hasn't. Somthing tells me that this subject has been beat in the ground, but obviously it is popular for discussion) I just had a few thoughts that came up, and thought I would post my humble opinion on this seemingly intense subject.
    I'm a part-time paid/volunteer firefighter in Indiana, and this subject has been discussed somewhat at our station, but not to the extent that I've found here. Most of our members have a blue light of some type, and there has never been a problem with bad driving.

In Indiana, firefighters use Blue lights only on their personal vehicles. Red lights/sirens can be used if the vehicle is registered to the fire department with a Municipal official license plate, and if it is for a Chief command vehicle.
    I live at the firehouse (literally, I'm a live-in. I get free rooming for being on station, and being there for calls). I still have lights on my vehicle for responding to the station during the day when I'm not there.
    Indiana state law states that a volunteer firefighter is allowed to exceed the posted speedlimit when using blue lights as long as he/she is practicing due regard and not placing themselves or other motorists in danger. They must still heed all stop lights and signs like other vehicles; the blue lights are only asking for the right-of-way.