Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread

Default I just got hired!!!!

Hey everyone,

I just got the call from Volusia County Fire Services (Florida) and I start on Monday!!! Six weeks of training then I'll start station work, I dont think I've ever been this excited in my life.
    I graduated standards in April and I feel lucky to have found a job so fast, but I've worked hard for it.

Any advice you guys can give a new guy I'd really appreciate it. I cant wait to start my life as a career firefighter!

Jordan Heinze

Forum Member

Default Fire Academy

The purpose of this article is to keep you from repeating the errors others have made keeping them from gaining a badge.

Just because you passed the physical agility doesnít mean you are ready for the fire academy. Whether you agree or not, the physical agility has been watered down to be politically correct. Departments know this. So, the training division is going to put you through the wringer to make sure you can do the job before you go on line.

Showing up at the academy is not the time to start getting ready. You need to be in shape and hit the ground running. I often get calls from candidates asking what do I do now? They have been let go in the academy. Itís tough enough getting a job. Keeping it can be a challenge. If you are let go by one department, it is going to be difficult if not impossible to get another department to take a chance on you.

ďThe worst mistake is to have the best latter at the wrong wall.Ē Dick Chaney VP USA