Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
    Forum Member

Default Storz couplings problems

Has anyone had problems with Storz couplings from different manufacturers being incompatible or really hard to couple?

We have two different brands of hose and a different brand of adapters that are extremely hard to couple and uncouple even after lubrication even though all are the Storz and are the same size.
    Lt. Dan

Forum Member

I've been working for a hose testing company for a couple years now, and I've come across some pretty hard to un-couple / couple Storz in that time. I've never come across any that are incompatable, as it usually comes down to simple maintance. Washing the darn things in soap and water, or at the very least running it thru a hose washer, works wonders. And I'm not talking just when you do the annual pressure test (you DO test, don't you?) but every time they happen to get nasty. Check for burrs, keep them clean, and replace the gaskets. I will say that the most recent agency we tested had 4" that had "Made in Germany" stickers on the couplings, and my knuckles still hurt from smashing them into the ground.

Oh yeah, by the way...exactly how old is this hose we're talking about anyways?

Forum Member

Most of this hose is less than two years old as well as the adapters. They will couple together but it is extremely hard to do.

The adapters are Harrington brand, the hose is Angus and the valve is Elkhart.
    Lt. Dan

Default stortz

LT.,
    The same thing happens in my Department. Alot of our stortz have locks on the side which makes it even harder to uncouple. No clue why it is so hard, but we lubricate them and everything and nothing seems to work. Good luck with yours.