Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 8 1234 ... LastLast

Angry Town Votes Not To Support Family Of Lodd Firefigher

I was a call firefighter in a town that bordered Lancaster, MA and was a career Firefighter in a city that bordered Lancaster as well. I find this disgusting and a slap in the face to any police officer, firefighter, or EMT that works for the town.

http://www.sentinelandenterprise.com...510741,00.html

Town votes against giving benefits to fallen firefighter's family

By Shari Duffy, Sentinel & Enterprise Correspondent

LANCASTER -- Town residents voted against providing Martin McNamara V's widow and family with annual death benefits following his death fighting a fire in November 2003.

After waiting anxiously for several hours as the town's votes were counted, family members of fallen Lancaster fire fighter Martin McNamara V and his fellow firefighters were left stunned and visibly distraught.

Just 18 votes separated those who were against a tax override that would have raised local taxes 7 percent for one year to fund an annuity to pay the McNamara family annual benefits. The final vote count was 1,615 against, 1,597 in favor with 170 blanks.

McNamara's father, Martin McNamara IV, reacted sharply to the defeat, saying there were 30 call firefighters in Lancaster who "just got a message from the town people that said if you lose your life, it isn't worth it to us."

McNamara later added his gratitude for those who did vote in favor of the override.

One Lancaster firefighter shouted as he left the polling location "This town just sent these guys a message and the message is they don't give a crap. The townspeople just said 'Stick it.'"

Lancaster has an all-call, or volunteer, fire department.