Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: RIT tools

Default RIT tools

Now that I have scaled back some of the duties that I am responsible for, I have decided to focus on finishing up as many "in progress" projects and ideas as I can (sorta like cleaning house for the "to do" or "project" list that I have been carrying around for the last 7 years).

Anyway, one of my ideas was setting up a RIT jump bag that contains the majority of the tools that a RIT team would use if activated. Of course, things like axes and power saws can not be stored in a jump bag, but there are many other tools that can be.

Here is what I have so far (it isn't much of a list):
    ~ A few short lengths of rescue rope, or strapping with carabineers on both end
    ~ Flashlights/Portable spot lights
    ~ Hand tools, such as crowbars and hacksaws

My other idea was to find a way to attach carabineers to the SCBA harness itself. Two on the back, on either side of the cylinder, and one on each shoulder strap (this serves as a double purpose because they could also be used to attach a flashlight to prior to entering the building. Digging around in your pockets for your light is never fun).

Anyway, I was wondering if anyone else has a RIT jump bag of some kind and what tools, etc, they keep in it. Believe it or not, but I have not been able to find to much on "recommended" RIT tools, etc. (lots of people trying to sell their jump bags, but no one saying what should go in it).

Our department doesn't run a lot of structure fires, but that is no excuse for not having a plan. However, there are a few HUGE subdivision proposals in the works, some of them spanning 100 acres or more! So there is a big potential increase in the number of fire related calls (running about 60% MVAs/Vehicle Fires right now to 2% structure fires).

"Just because it has never happened doesn't mean you should have a plan ready to go, just in case!"