Thread: career change

MembersZone Subscriber

Default career change

At the age of 30 I have the opportunity to chase a dream of becoming a full time Firefighter/EMT. I am currently in class for my national EMT-B certificate and I have been a Volunteer With Tampico RFPD in Tampico, IL for over 3 yrs. I am looking for a position in the mid IL and Mid IN areas. I am also worried about my age and how much of a factor it could be. Also I am an 8 yr Veteran of the USN. Will this be helpful. If anyone can offer me some advice or information on departments that are testing I would appreciate it.

Forum Member

30... are you nuts? 30 is only old when you're 10!

Your time in the Navy will be an asset to departments who look for discipline. You're gonna be someone who can function smoothly in a paramilitary organization. You understand command structure, AND you have fire/ems training & experience. Be sure to use ALL that you have experienced & done when interviewing/selling yourself to a prospective department. In no way do I have all the answers (CaptBob should be weighing in here shortly!). Best of luck, and welcome to Firehouse!
    ~Kevin
    Firefighter/Paramedic
    --^v--^v--^v--^v--
    Of course, that's just my opinion. I could be wrong
    Dennis Miller

Permanently Removed

Default 2 cents...

Ok, here we go...

30 is NOT old. Sometimes, the older the better. Figure out
    your platform right now...I can do it in about 15 seconds.
    Mature, stable, military, education, etc... Ok, more
    like 5 seconds. Take those attributes and work off of them.

I high suggest you go look at Capt. Bob's website for a
    look. Even veteran FFs need interview help.

Being in the Navy was good, BUT, please remember not
    (including me) everyone was in the Armed Forces. Much
    like having a 4 year degree, dont slam this down an oral
    board's throat or make it your only platform for trying
    to get hired.

Start getting in the testing circuit vs. focusing on just