Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Forum Member

Question What Can I Do To Help Myself Get On The Local FD

Hello All,

This is my first post! I'm an 18 year old student in a Fire Science tech prep program at Stark State College. I recently finished my EMT-B class with a 98% and take my Natl. Reg. test in Dec 11. Today I started my 240 class. A while ago I submitted my application packet to my lacal FD (a mix of full time and vollie, 5 stations)for a VFF/EMT job. I am really looking foreward to when I can start puting my skills to use.

The fire department has not contacted me back however. I know my application, letters and resume were all fime. The station I would report to is undermened as well, they frequently roll the squad with one EMT and the pump with 3 people. I guss I'm just wondering why they would not want me to join ASAP. I know it costs to outfitt a FF but I'm sure they have some old gear and most of the calls are EMS. I really can't see any reason why they would not want me to join.

Has anybody else had trouble getting on as a volunteer? If so, I would like to hear your stories. What can I do to get joined up with the fire department. I don't want to seem too firm with them, but I really want to start making runs. Any advice would be great, THANKS.

MembersZone Subscriber mcaldwell's Avatar

Have you made a follow-up phone call?

It never hurts to make sure they got everything, and politely ask what your status is.

There can be numerous reasons why you have not been contacted. Just from reading your post, some possibilities jump out at me:

-Your age MIGHT be a factor. Do they regularly accept 18yr olds (don't assume, ask)?
    -Are you sure they actually have empty slots, or are they perhaps just under a budget axe and forced to run lean? It wouldn't be the first time. Contrary to popular belief, Volleys are not free.