MembersZone Subscriber

Question Oral Interview in Gwinnett County, GA

I am a 33 y/o firefighter in Houston, who is going for his Orla Interview in three weeks. Are there any pointers that can be given. I havent been this nervouis since my first burner. I have alrady reviewed Capt. Bobs' site & it helped a little, but naturally I seek more. There is no board in Houston, so I dont know what to expect. Any advice will be greatly appreciated.

Reecon

Forum Member

Default The Miracle Oral Board Tool

- A Tape Recorder Ė

Everyone has butterflies. The trick is to get them to all fly in the same formation.

This is the biggest problem I've seen on oral boards when seasoned veterans take entry level or lateral tests is they can't place themselves in the position they are applying for; that of being a snotty nosed rookie. They try to hammer the oral board with their credentials thinking the board will just hand them the job. Their oral board skills are rusty and antiquated. It's hard for them to remember how it was to be a rookie.

There is a delicate balance here. Leave your time and rank in your locker. You must be humble, place yourself in the rookie position and build a natural bridge to present your education, experience and integrity to the oral board panel. Without this bridge, you're dead meat. This is not easy for many seasoned candidates. An attitude adjustment is needed. Attitude is a small thing that can make the big difference. Remember the position you're applying for.

The seasoned veteran candidate can roar past any of the other candidates if his attitude and game plan are in place.

What tools can you use to practice and rehearse your oral board answers? Right, a video camera. You need to see how you look in action. But you are trapped with a video camera. Mirror? Sure standing in front of a mirror is good. But you are missing the most valuable tool of all. A hand-held tape recorder.