Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Post Engineer In Training

I'm looking for some help from experienced engineers. I'm an engineer trainee and have some reservations. I know that you take on a heck of a lot of responsibility when you climb into the driver's seat of a truck; That combined with some of our wintery weather makes me more than hesitant to complete my training. I'm hoping some of you out there can give me some rules of thumb that you go by, maybe some lessons you've learned the hard way or not so that I can learn from your mistakes and successes. Thanks in advance for anything you can contribute!

Forum Member

elishua,

First you have a good attitude. I would much rather have someone who has a healthy respect for the responsibility of being an engineer than one who just likes the lights and siren.

Start by learning the apparatus inside and out. Basically you should be able to crawl in through the radiator and come out the tail pipe and know all the components and how they relate to each other.

Learn "back up procedures" for when the high tech stuff quits working. Can you engage or disengage the pump manually? Do you know how to "wet prime" when the primer quits?

Learn the physical handling qualities of the apparatus and yes, it will handle differently on ice and snow.

More later

Stay Safe
    IACOJ

Forum Member