Default Broken Record Question, SORRY!

Hello. I have a few questions reguarding becoming a Firefighter. Please let me know all you can.

First a little info:
    I am 19 years of age. Turn 20 in May.
    I am in my second year of college. I am a General Studies major right now. Math, English, History...etc.
    I am a road cyclist competing in lots of long distance races.

I have been wanting to be a Firefighter for sometime now. I just thought you go to the city and they give you training and a job. I was planning on joining the military around my 19th birthday. To my suprise they DQ'd me because I had Asthma as a child. I have never had any syptoms of Asthma past the age of 7. But when they asked me if I have ever had asthma before I said 'Yes', they said no.

So after a while of just working and going to school, I met up with a person who was a Dallas Firefighter. He told me stories and Hands down - I want to be a firefighter. But to my knowledge there is some major steps to be taken to get my badge.

Ok here is the main reason for this post. I will be transferring to KU around March of 05 and will be studying anything dealing w/ fire or along those lines.

1. What are the actual steps to be taken to become a FF? (Do you go to school and apply to the city and they put you through training or what?)
    2. Can you go to a Firefighter program and then eventually become a FF?
    3. What are the regular requirements to be a FF? Age? Fitness? School? Certification?
    4. What is the exact definition of a Volunteer Firefighter?

In general what steps and things must I do to become a certified FF and be on a dept?

Please let me know all you can! Thanks!

And sorry for it being so long!

former FH.com member

Welcome FFpyro (1st off I'd ditch that screen name )

Congratulations on your career choice. Here are some answers for you.