Forum Member

Default Experienced people...I need your advice

I am still fairly new to this, but everytime I work a bad wreck it bothers me for the next couple nights. It is not the blood, or smell, or anything that bothers me. It is me 2nd guessing myself. Maybe it is because of my inexperience, I dunno, but I don't like it. Sometimes I lay awake for hours wondering why I didn't do something or why I did do soemthing instead of something else.

Does this go away or do you alwasy 2nd guess youself?

Forum Member
    Why? It's not like you're going to visit me! But I'm near Waco, Texas

Second guessing is common at first. Once you have the experience and training the job becomes second nature and the second guessing goes away to a degree. There are still going to be calls where you doubt yourself. You didn't mention it but do you talk to anyone about it. Is there an officer or fellow firefighter that was on scene that you can talk to and get any questions, comments or concerns answered?

Just keep with it and don't give up. You're not going through anything that no one else here hasn't. You are not alone in this.

Good Luck.
    NREMT-P\ Reserve Volunteer Firefighter\Reserve Police Officer
    IACOJ Attack

Experts built the Titanic, amateurs built the Ark.

Forum Member

Default Second guessing

Every man and his dog is a expert after the event-it is known as the "Kooda-wooda-shooda, done this, syndrome"

The man on the spot calls the shot--if you get it right nobody says a word --get it wrong and they are all after a piece of you.

If you can say to yourself "I did as best as I possibly could -and as good as I have been trained" Then you ,my son, have upheld every tradition of this career you have chosen.
    "If you thought it was hard getting into the job--wait until you have to hang the "fire gear"up and walk away!"
    Harry Lauder 1981.Me on the left!

Permanently Removed

Default Hmmm...

My suggestion- After you return from the T/C (traffic