Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thumbs up 48/96 Shift Schedule

Hi, I am an Engineer for Los Angeles County Fire Department. I am looking into the 48/96 (48 hours on / 96 hours off) shift schedule. I am trying to build a list of departments that are currently useing this schedule or are in a trial period prior to voteing to make it permenant. Anyone know of some fire departments useing this schedule?

You may want to try a search. I believe this schedule has been discussed a few times on here...

San bernardino city,Norco and i believe the Colton fire departments are on that schedule.

Default Re: 48/96 Shift Schedule

Originally posted by fyerdriver
    Hi, I am an Engineer for Los Angeles County Fire Department. I am looking into the 48/96 (48 hours on / 96 hours off) shift schedule. I am trying to build a list of departments that are currently useing this schedule or are in a trial period prior to voteing to make it permenant. Anyone know of some fire departments useing this schedule?

Who would want to work a 48 if you run all the time like we do on the Right Coast????
    Stay Safe and Well Out There....

Always remembering 9-11-2001 and 343+ Brothers

Default Update-

Hello- I have written several threads on the issue. To sum it
    up, the 48/96 is great for the FDs that run light, medium to
    semi-busy calls.

The County of San Bernardino FD had the schedule and went
    away from it due to some of their Fontana stations getting
    slammed. (24-30 calls a 24 hour shift)

So, yes. I have said if youre super busy, this might not be
    for you. But the advantages are huge! Imagine going to work
    basicly one a week, less driving for you. More time for the
    kids. Less wear and tear on your car, equipment at work.
    Dumping less chemicals down the toilets (cleaning tiolets
    every day) and your FD is saving money because you arent
    using the cleaning supplies everyday as well. The list