Forum Member

Default Is it time to Quit?

Edited 2-9-2006
    Last edited by NCKSFIRE; 02-09-2006 at 11:40 PM.

Forum Member

the time to quit, or at least the time to reevaluate whether or not you want to a member is when it ceases to be fun, or when your desire to be a member of the department ceases to be there.

I know, I'm going through the same thing right now. instead of quitting, you mght want to try a 4 or 6 month leave of absence, and see what your feelings are after the break. see if your feelings are the same.
    If my basic HazMat training has taught me nothing else, it's that if you see a glowing green monkey running away from something, follow that monkey!

FF/EMT/DBP

Forum Member
    Rural Wisconsin, Retired from the burbs of Milwaukee

NCKSFIRE...

First of all ignore the worthless comments of fiNEWBIEre.

Secondly, listen to DrParasite.

I have been a volunteer firefighter for 27 years and the feelings you have are real and true, because I have experienced them myself. I also have been a career firefighter for 13 years. I believe there are 2 major reasons why people want to leave the volunteer fire service, 1) Frustration with either lack of progress or lack of leadership, 2) time constraints due to busier lives.

The first one is a true killer and it is one of my major frustrations. But believe me it isn't only a volunteer problem. It occurs as much on the career side as it does volly.

What can we do to combat that? We as chief officers need to utilize our people to the best of their ability. We need to make them feel valuable and a part of the team. I do that by giving people responsibilty and the authority to carry out the tasks that they seem interested in. I also feel it is my job to prepare my officers to someday take over my position. I don't feel threatened when I see my officers develop skills and confidence, I feel successful in my job.