Default Non Hydraulic Extrication

I would like to hear from those that have chosen non hydraulics as as their primary method of extrication. The reasons may be quite varied (not enough runs to justify the cost, not enough money for the tools regardless of the number of the runs, you would rather spend the money elsewhere, etc). I would ESPECIALLY like to hear from people who think that in most instances with proper training they can perform extrications as effectively, safely and quickly with recips, hi-lift jacks, etc.

I'm not anti-hydraulic I've been using them for over 10 years (and it's hard to beat a good cutter going through a wide C post). The primary reason for my post is that a neighboring department may begin doing their own extrications. Currently extrications account for only a dozen or so runs a year and adequate mutual aid is available if needed. I feel that hydraulics in this instance is overkill however the mentality is that hydraulics are the cure all for all extrications and I would like to offer some succesful alternatives. Thanks.

Forum Member

Default Re: Non Hydraulic Extrication

Originally posted by matt194
    (and it's hard to beat a good cutter going through a wide C post).
    Cip saws work just as well, if not better on posts..

MembersZone Subscriber

I second 77's post, with a good blade and charged battery the cip saws will go right through them posts just as fast as opening cutters all the way up.