Thread: Am I alone?

MembersZone Subscriber

Default Am I alone?

I've always considered myself an aggressive firefighter. I also would like to think I am a competant EMS provider. I have tallied over 10 years experience in the fire service and have begun to rise within the ranks of our department. I work full time as a firefighter in a pretty active department and part-time for our local EMS service. My career has been going well, with very limited pitfalls. Until recently, I've always maintained a strong confidence in my ability to handle most situations I'm presented with. I'm beginning to notice a change in myself...

I notice that I've become much more anxious when responding to calls. Sometimes the anxiety is to a point where I physically become nauseated with concern over what might lie ahead of us. Once I'm on scene, I can pull myself together and accomplish whatever tasks are required of me. But the feelings of dread can be overwhelming while enroute.

I've seen many traumatic events from Self-inflicted GSW's, to murder scenes, bad 10-50's requiring extrications..I've also removed a victim from a housefire ( she died on scene however). I'm not sure why, with my experience, I'm having these uneasy feelings that have recently become a nuisance. Anyone have any insight?

REW

IACOJ BOD

Rew.

Perfectly normal behaviour. It may be time to seek some wise counsel from your CSID people.

It is nothing that can not be overcome, just the accumulation of doing the job over some years. You may want to ask around for some professional assistance.

This can be nothing more than being able to really talk through your feelings in an environment away from the job, and family. It is nothing to feel threatened or ashamed about.
    Psychiatrists state 1 in 4 people has a mental illness.
    Look at three of your friends, if they are ok, your it.

MembersZone Subscriber