Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
Closed Thread

Thread: The Two Hatters

MembersZone Subscriber FireCritic's Avatar

Default The Two Hatters

I am a Career Firefighter who is also a Union member in a state that is a right to work state. I see the "Two Hatters" who work in my department (City/all career) and volunteer in the County (comgination). All in all some of my brothers/sisters have a fun time ribbing the others for volunteering. However the problem arises when our members who are volunteering in the County are impeding in the process of the County paid staff growing to the level where it should be. This affects me because I live in the county and instead of having full time staff which is more reliable more of the time, I have to rely completely on the volunteers or mutual aid. Now that being said I have no problem at all with volunteers and I was one before becoming career. However during the day or night when no one is at the station (volunteers) then if something happens I have to wait the extra response time for adequate fire/ems protection.

So yes I have a problem with "TWO HATTERS" who consistently make it more difficult for other departments to grow. And yes there is a time in suburban departments lives when they need to make the crossover to a combination department due to increased call volume, increased population, decreased volunteer members, etc.

I guess I see it this way. If several of my coworkers volunteer somewhere else and have continually voiced their opinion on more career staffing at their volunteer station to the point of the Governing bodies listening to them and following their wishes. Then what the heck is going to happen when my house burns down in their Volunteer district while they are all working (24 hours) and thus unable to respond.