Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
    MembersZone Subscriber

Default Where to go from here?

To everyone out there who has some input.

I am currently a school teacher who does not like his job. My goal in life is to become a full time fire fighter as are many peoples on this forum.

I have a masters in Education and have a Bachlers in Mathematics.

My question to all would be this. What do fire departments look for in an applicant by way of jobs held.

I really do not like teaching and want to get out. If I get a fire job I am out with out a second thought. Next year I am probably not going to go back to teaching. I was thinking of doing work as an EMT full time.

Would it look better for me to stay working as a teacher or would it be better to be a full time EMT.

MembersZone Subscriber

ant195:

If there is a volunteer fire department or a volunteer rescue squad near you i'd try those first just to see if you like it, because it sounds like you put alot of time in becomming a teacher. That way before you make the switch you see if you like it or not.. Good luck w/ your decision.

MembersZone Subscriber

I agree with Muttly. If you have a volunteer station nearby due the training and all that they will give you will definitely work around your schedule. It will also give you an opportunity to see if you are actually going to like the career change. In my state many people start out as volunteers and make the transfer to career firefighters. It puts a little experience under their belt and also the volunteer departments will put you through the basic classes you will need. It will however require a small chunk of your time.

Forum Member

Default EMT

Gaining your EMT will open more doors for you to gain experience.

Captain Bob

www.eatstress.com

MembersZone Subscriber

Default Volunteering