MembersZone Subscriber
    Not the end of the earth but I can see it from here...

Question Switching to LDH?

A question for anybody....trying to get some ideas together for our 2005 FireAct grant application....I was thinking of trying to get some large diameter hose and I need some advice.

A little background...We are a rural, all volunteer department, run about 300 calls a year. The largest supply line we currently use is 3". Although rural, our area is mostly pretty well hydranted. Our hydrants average in the 500-1,000 gpm range, some a little less, some a tad more, with approx. 70 psi. static pressure. I have some working knowledge of LDH, as I use it at my industrial job. My questions:

Considering 5" or 6"...which is better? I'm used to 6" at my job, but I think it would be overkill in a rural setting (Mostly single-family dwellings, although we have 2 sugar mills, some industry, and the usual supermarkets/schools/churches etc.). Is the extra flow worth the weight, cost, difficulty to handle, etc.? Opinions? Reasons?

How much LDH would you generally carry on an engine? (I suspect this would depend on how spaced your hydrants are, but general ideas?) Do you still carry a good supply of 2.5" or 3"?

Any tips/tricks on how to set it up, what accessories and fittings I'll need? SOP's?

Do you generally feed long lays directly from the hydrant, or use a relay pumper at the hydrant? We use a relay usually, just to generate enough pressure to overcome the friction loss of 3". How necessary is it with LDH?

Also, anybody use Turbodraft? Seems like a great idea, just wondering how well they work. We do have quite a lot of static water sources, but can't get an engine right up close to most of them for drafting. Thought Turbodraft might be a good solution, would appreciate your opinions, pro or con.

Any info is appreciated, feel free to post here or e-mail me. Thanks.....
    Chief Dwayne LeBlanc
    Paincourtville Volunteer Fire Department
    Paincourtville, LA