Default Dispatch for PSI?

I am a volunteer firefighter and emt-b in Texas. I also have my emd. I was wondering if anyone could tell me who dispatches for Paramedic Services of Illinois. I will probably be moving to Wheaton, Ill. soon and will be looking for a job. Also what are the requirements of a paid firefighter in Illinois? I really appreciate any info.

Thanks,
    Wags

MembersZone Subscriber
    911 N. Sycamore St. Yep, that's really our address.

Wags: PSI is strictly a contract medic service. They do not do any self-dispatching. Almost all EMS in Northern Illinois is fire service based. With a few execptions, the contract services even work out of and along side the fire department personnel (sometimes to their chagrin).

If you are interested in a dispatching job, DUCOMM in Glendale Heights dispatches for most of the agencies in DuPage County, and they are not far from Wheaton. NORCOMM handles the northern suburbs. Tri-Com handles the tri-cities of St. Charles, Geneva, and Batavia in Kane County. These are good, well-run agencies.
    Omnis Cedo Domus

www.hinckleyfd.org

Forum Member

Default PSI....

PSI doesn't get dispatched by anyone. They are a provider of contract paramedics for several suburban fire departments in the Chicago area. The members are employed by PSI, but are quasi-sworn members of the departments they are working for. Some of the departments they provide medics for are Franklin Park, Norwood Park,Leyden Township,West Chicago, and Berwyn, among others. They did at one time have a 3 year committment requirement if they sent you to FF II school, otherwise you had to reimburse them for the training costs. Also, whatever you do, don't ever express ANY interest in working for the Chicago Fire Department to them, either in casual conversation, interview, ANY time. That is a guaranteed way NOT to get hired by them.