Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
    Forum Member

Default PTO versus Crossmount

What are the advantages to the two kinds of pump. Does anyone do pump and roll with the 750-1000gpm PTO pump on an automatic. Looking at this option due to the cost. The crossmount is probably more idiot proof but more costly. Have looked at running a small auxillary pump with a PTO or even a midship. Don't need that many gallons when rolling, but want the big pump for ISO. Don't have any ISO rated pumpers currently. Now is the time to get the pumps if we are going to do it. Currently a nine and trying to work toward an 8b or even an 8. Will have 6500 gallons of water on trucks in district. Another 3-4000 in mutual aid water. Limited hydrants. How does the PTO perform pump & roll. Does the pressure vary that much or does it keep constant enough to fight a grass fire.

I have no first-hand experience with newer pump and rolls.

I've heard people recommend:

- dedicated engine/pump configuration, to eliminate PTO issues
    - Hydraulic water pump, with the hydraulics powered off the PTO

Both of the above will allow for effective pressure/flow regulation. I'm not sure how big you can go with a hydraulic water pump. A separate engine running the pump seems like the simplest method to me, though it's another engine to maintain.
    God Bless America!Remember all have given some, but some have given all.
    Google Is Your Friend™Helpful forum tip - a "must see" if you're new here
    Click this to search FH Forums!

a pto pump can be a very viable option, but not every manufacturer is comfortable with them

Darley has PTO pumps up to 1500, Waterous has PTO pumps to 1250gpm. I didn't see a pto pump on the Hale website

A truck with a PTO pump can be much shorter than a midship pump, and a hydraulic drive pto can give a lot of mounting options

A PTO pump can be large enough to qualify for an ISO rated engine and still pump and roll for field fire work.