Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread

Default Suprise Live Burn

You guys really need to get a grip. I have been a career firefighter for 20 years, made thousands of runs, fought hundreds of fires and one thing that I have learned is that there are those in the fire service who will say and do anything for their 15 minutes of fame.

It doesn't matter what the facts are, who really did the job, where you live and work. You will find a guy or gal that is willing to discredit his or her department to make him or her look good.

Unfortunately, where I live, it usually comes from a volunteer organization. Before you all start screaming about that comment, I started my career as a volunteer. I am just stating the fact of what I have seen in my area.

I also learned at a young age to get both sides of a story before forming an opinion. I think you will find that, in most cases, the story is never as it appears on the surface.

Additionally, do you all realize how stupid we look as a group to be so easily manipulate by such an article. Not to mention the general bias we must have against volunteer departments to assume that the leadership of these departments is dumb enough to do such a thing.

Here is what it comes down to. Everybody wants to assume the worst before knowing the facts. We assume that if it is writing it must be true. Rather than giving the benefit of the doubt, we take 4 or 5 paragraphs as gospel and make a decision based only on our emotions.

Doesn't say much for our so called "Professionalism"? Get off your high horses. Take a good hard look at yourself in the mirror. Are you perfect? I bet if you look deep enough you will find many area in which you could improve.

Let's clean up our own act before we pass judgment on someone else.

Why? It's not like you're going to visit me! But I'm near Waco, Texas