Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
    Forum Member

Lightbulb B.S. Degree...Firefighter??

Hi. I'm new to the forums and had a few questions in regards to beginning a firefighting career. First, do I HAVE to pay the fees in order to start my fire/emt/etc training?? Meaning: how can I get "sponsored", while I take classes, etc? Could I do an internship type situation with a dept. and afterwards, if they see I'm a good candidate--they pay for my training... Thanks.

Kevin
    Naples, FL

Forum Member

I do have my B.S. from the University of Florida! Thanks guys!

Kevin
    Naples, FL

Forum Member

Default Major

What study is your BS degree in?

Forum Member

My degree is in Applied Physiology and Kinesiology--not related to firefighting

Kevin

MembersZone Subscriber

You will find as a general rule that there are so many “qualified” candidates out there that fire departments do not need to “sponsor” candidates to get them qualified. We take ones that already come prepackaged with what we are looking for.

You may get lucky and apply for a department that has minimal entry-level requirements and will see the potential in YOU. In the meantime I encourage you to get yourself into fire science courses and become qualified. Put yourself through a basic fire academy and earn your EMT. Get involved with a volunteer department and LEARN HOW TO TAKE A FIRE DEPARTMENT INTERVIEW.

Lastly, a Bachelor’s degree will help you down the road. I would not dwell on it to heavily during the interview process. You don’t want to come across as a “college boy,” who has never worked a hard day in his life. You are looking to come across as a hard-working person who also has earned a degree.

While your degree doesn’t do much for you in the hiring process, it does help you immensely in the promotional process.

I would absolutely hire someone with a degree over someone who doesn’t simply because he or she has shown the following attributes: