Forum Member

Default Newbie needs advice.

I'm a brand new firefighter. Extrication is an aspect of my duties that really intrests me. I want to learn as much as possible as quick as possible so that I'll be able to really get in there on the extrication scenes. I'm looking for some tips, advice/suggestions, and learning material. I still have a few more months of paramedic school so I can't take any extrication classes right now. So short of classes what can I do to start learning about it?

Forum Member

What state are you in? I know that Pennsylvania, for example, will allow you to take the State Fire Academy/Department of Health Vehicle Extrication Technician level class(40 hours) without any prior medical background.

Otherwise, just get in on in-house extrication trainings and see if they'll give you a sort of 'in house certification' to get active on accident scenes?
    "Captain 1 to control, retone this as a structure and notify the fire chief...."

Safety is no accident.

Forum Member

I'm in Florida. I have medical training.......I jsut don't have much hands on time with the tools or knowledge of procedures/techniques. Any good books?......I don't have time for any more classes for now.

Forum Member
    Why? It's not like you're going to visit me! But I'm near Waco, Texas

Ron Moore has a really good book on extrication. Also Holmatro has one as well, though I know nothing about that one.
    NREMT-P\ Reserve Volunteer Firefighter\Reserve Police Officer
    IACOJ Attack

Experts built the Titanic, amateurs built the Ark.

MembersZone Subscriber