MembersZone Subscriber

Default Aspiring firefighter

Im a 20 year old guy looking to become a firefighter, specificly in and around the area of Chicago. I was wondering if anybody could give me some information about application processes for your respective departments, tips to prepare for the application process, anything that would be usefull. Thanks!

MembersZone Subscriber

Huh, no ones replied to you, told you to do a search or given lincks. Well since I'm not very good at finding links, I'll give you a run through.

1. Testing for a fire deparment begins at the age of 21, unless a glowing letter of recommendation is accepted from someone with infulence~seen that only one time.

2. There is a physical agility test and writen exam (may be reversed depending on how that department does it). There are books that can be purchased or downloaded for study, also look under "training" at the top of the screen for some good tips for prepping and Captin Bob. Both tests must be passed. If a practice test is offered take it!

3. Oral exam~the interview, most of the time this is pass/fail. Depending on the department extra points are added for those in/were in the military, paramedics and/or Firefighter II. The eligibility list is then made; there are different types of list.

4.Next comes: (may vary in order, not limited too)
    Background investigation, Polygraph examination, Psychological examination, Medical examination.

5. Now comes probation period, where in all training must be completed if not required prior to application. such as EMT-B, EMT-P, FFII. This time is for a max in the state of IL of 2 years. If training is not completed, failed the class, or for almost any reason one may be dismissed from the department.

As for the application itself: