Forum Member

Default Positive Pressure Fan Safety

I am a firefighter on station 22 in moore county. on a structure fire we were proforming mechical venilation with a positive pressure fan. When the fan was removed from the truck the handle extended and I was struck in the mouth. I chipped a tooth and yes this sounds strange but I caused nerve damage. I just wanted everyone to know that the handles on the fans can be dangerous and I didn't want anyone else to go through the same thing. Also in our county the fire departments and rescues are seperate. How do you feel about rescue members that were terminated from our fire department helping with equipment at fire scenes and running the pumps.

Forum Member

OK, I beleive your question (rephrased) how do we feel about the situation where rescue members were terminated because they assisted the fire department with exterior tasks and acting as pumper operators at fire scenes ?

If that was in fact your question, it sounds like there needs to be some serious fence mending between fire and EMS in your community, unless they rescue personnel deviated from THIER SOPs in regards to fire scene activities, which if they did, would provide the EMS service just cause for the terminations. Here in our district, we have an agreement with the Parish EMS service, who houses a 2 man medic unit at our Central Station, that they will be cross-trained to drive our engines and pump them at structure and vehicle fires. If there are injuries, civilain or firefighters, we will relieve the pump operator immediattly so he can assist his partner in handling his PRIMARY duty. Usually the 2nd crew member will remain at the ambulance to act as rehab, unless he happens to be an off duty firefighter from our department or another area department. In that case he will generally assist with setup and such, but will keep himself in a posistion to be able to immediattly break off and provide medical care.