Default Extrication Time

I am a Firefighter/Paramedic for the City of Columbia MO. I was wanting to know when does the clock start ticking for "extrication time"? I know the "Golden Hour" starts at the time when the call is received at the 911 center. So if you can help me or point me to a National Standard I would be greatful.

Chris

The golden hour in our county states that on your avg car axident, (starts) From the time the call is recivied to the time the pacient rolls into the surgery room(stops) should be 1 hr.
    Thats what your where lookin for?
    -Scott
    "Its the quiet people that change the world and the loud people who take the credit"
    9-11-01

Forum Member

The NFPA standard for rescue technician is 1006. This should be able to tell you when the clock starts ticking for extrication time. Check your station or with the fire academy to see if they have a copy, so you do not have buy it yourself.

Forum Member

I thought the golden hour started at the moment when the trauma occurs.. and that from that time until we arrive on the scene is considered part of that hour.
    Richard Nester
    Orrville (OH) Fire Dept.

"People don't care what you know... until they know that you care." - Scott Bolleter

MembersZone Subscriber

The golden hour is from the time the injury/crash occurs and the hour ends when the patient arrives at the emergency room. This is what you will find in most EMT/Medic text books. Alot of people think it ends when they arrive on the O.R. table but that is often debated. I firmly believe in the platinum 10. This is what I learned years ago and now use it myself in classes. When the tools touch the car the clock starts and within 10 minutes on most extrications the patient should be on the cot. Granted we run many calls that it takes alot longer. But if you need to stand back and look, and plan your course of attack for a minute it will make the difference later.