MembersZone Subscriber

Default Faller Classifications

As a S-212 instructor I am curious of what other instructors consider a Class B faller besides the recommendations put forth by NCWG. I find it hard to give out a class b permit to guys that just don't have the expertise needed, and im not sure if it's just that I am being to hard on them. I have been a timber faller for 20 yrs before I started doing this, for a little background. I have seen many accidents during my years and cant emphasize enough to students how dangerous this is. But yet every class I teach I have guys coming up and wanting to get signed off on there class b but I usually deny them saying they need more practice. So if there are any instructors out there or guys that are class b or c fallers would like to throw in what they had to do, go ahead on her. Im all ears.
    Thanks
    burn
    Burn<br />LT/EMT/Inst />Central Mat-Su FD<br />Wasilla Alaska

As an SRBC/E I had to go through the whole gambit. I went though it when I was an SRBE with the state of Oregon and again when I went over into the contracting world. I had to go through all of the class work AND above everything else, I had to go through the practical hours. There were no excuses.

Like yourself I too have seen accidents and most were very preventable. I also have seen the people you speak of. The guys that want this and want that because of the general misconecption of "I have taken this class, I am now a QUALIFIED blah blah blah " without putting forth the neccessary PRACTICAL aspects.