Forum Member

Thumbs up Nozzle help please...

I am trying to sell our Officers/Admin on the use of 1-3/4" handline with 15/16" smooth bore nozzles. We have adjustable gallonage fog nozzles on them now flowing 120-125 gpm. for years, those same nozzles were set at 95 gpm, I finally explained my opinion of the waste of the larger line if were gonna flow 95 gpm. We basically have 1 1-3/4" precon on the drivers side hose bed of all of our trucks, as well as a 2.5" on the other side of the supply line, as well as 2 crosslays of 1.5" up front. Im a live burn instructor and have been to and help numerous burns were a smooth bore nozzle has been used as primary attack and the knockdown is unrivaled with a fog nozzle, as well as all the other benefits that I wont go into. We have monsterous homes in our district (5000 sq. ft - 36,000 sq. ft) and Im arguing for more gpms with less nozzle/back pressure. Any opinions out there to help my cause....and thanks, be safe. Ps...recent articals if you know of any

Forum Member

You may want to try the search feature. This has been debated here about, oh....
    5,000,000,000,000,000,000,000,000,000,000,000,000, 000,000,000,000,000,000,000,000,000,000,000,000,00 0,000,000,000,000,000,000,000 times

Fire Marshal/Safety Officer

IAAI-NFPA-IAFC/VCOS-Retired IAFF

"No his mind is not for rent, to any god or government"
    RUSH-Tom Sawyer

Success is when skill meets opportunity
    Failure is when fantasy meets reality

Forum Member

Talking

Are you sure thats all? Might be a few more times than that!

MembersZone Subscriber

Captnnc,

I would treat the argument like a college research paper. Opinions from a webpage won't get you far. Pretend you are a high paid consultant and you need to sell the Chief on your ideas. Get tanglible high ranking and experiecned firefighters to refer to.