Default So I thought I was in good shape until..

I went through the physical test for my local volunteer department.

This is the type of training I've been doing for the last 4 months:

day 1: 30 minutes at 75% (area I run is all flat)

day 3: 40 minutes at 70%

day 5: 30 minutes at 80%

day 7: 35 minutes at 75% with stair training in between

REPEAT

I stretch for about 10 minutes after my runs and do sit-ups & push-ups after a run usually once a week. This has been in preparation for a fitness test that alot of our departments use

http://www.fit-tech.org/firefighterassess.html

My 2.4 km run was last timed at 9:15 which I'm proud of and my sit-ups/push-ups are pretty good as well.

HOWEVER...when I finished my physical test at the vollie dept., I was dead! out of breath and muscles were throbbing. I thought I was in shape, but after that test, I knew I had to change things.

I signed up at my local gym yesterday and want to start a program. I know this has been asked a hundred times, but does anyone have any advice/links for a workout that will satisfy the above fitness test and other future fitness tests I will be taking which are similiar to the Combat Challenge?

Thanks alot!

Forum Member

Default Physical Agility, CPAT, Biddle What Ever

Physical Agility

Often, candidates don’t realize that it’s not just strength in the physical agility. The “Nugget “ is technique, momentum and grip. If you are uncertain or having problems in the physical, take advantage of any college or academy programs to learn the techniques to practice pulling hose, throwing a ladder, dragging a dummy (not you), etc. Many departments offer practice “run-through” sessions for their physical test prior to the actual date of testing. Don’t pass up this opportunity.