Thread: Where to Start

Forum Member

Default Where to Start

Hey folks,

I am looking for some advice on becoming a volunteer/on call firefighter/medical responder.

Here is some background.

I am a college student, although I will be graduating in December. Right now, I live on the northwest area of Plymouth Township (M-14 and Ridge). My dilemma is two fold. One, I donít live in a township/city with volunteer/on call personnel (Salem Twp, Northville City, Superior Twp, Ann Arbor Twp, etc.) Two, I donít know where I will be living or working this time next year. Where I live a year from now depends on where I land a full time job.

I understand that one of the problems with retaining volunteer/on call personnel is that once they receive the training and certification, they leave. I donít feel that this is right, and I wouldnít want to burden a department by doing the same. I have also contemplated going to Schoolcraft for their academy, and pay for it out of my own pocket.

On one hand, It seems like I am in a good time to start (flexible schedule, no major responsibilities), on the other hand it doesnít seem like the right time (Unsure of future residence, job, etc). Any ideas on where to start or what is the best course of action?

Thanks.

MembersZone Subscriber

Default My 2 cents...

I would hold off on trying to get on as a volunteer until I knew where I was going to move. The department is going to invest alot of time and money in you and would expect that you will be worth it. You won't be if you leave within a year. By the time you got enough training to help them in any way, you will most likely be gone. And, moving to a town just to be on their volunteer department is not a good idea. You might regret it if things don't go as planned with you and them, then the only reason you moved there doesn't even exist anymore.