Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Introduction

MembersZone Subscriber

Default Introduction

Since, I have been posting on and off for a while, I wanted to finally give an introduction.

I am a Lieutenant on the Kankakee Township Fire Protection District, we are a small fire district serving the unincorporated areas to the east and south of Kankakee. We run about 185 calls a year.. 75 fire related and 110 ambulance. If you ever want to see how municpal annexations can make crazy boundries, I can send you a map. (Once the county planner gets done updating it! <again> ) We contact the ambulance service out to a local hospital but we do run with them on calls. I just got my Paramedic license after waiting 4 months for the state to design a test. I work part-time as a Engineer/Paramedic for the Bourbonnais Fire Protection District. Bourbonnais is running around 2100 calls a year from one station and getting busier each year. My full time gig is with the local cable company in sales. Anyway, thats the reader's digest version. If you have any questions shoot me an email or post here.

MembersZone Subscriber ChiefReason's Avatar

K3;
    Welcome.
    I, too, have been posting for awhile.
    I am president of our district's board of trustees.
    I had 22 active years on the department; 14 as chief.
    We cover about 60 square miles, mostly ag, but we get some hot Interstate runs to MVAs. Our average year is about 70 calls; half are rescue.
    We are an ISO Class 6. We went there from an 8. We have 10 certified FFIIs and two state certified Instructor I on the department.