Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
    Forum Member

Post Explorers in the firehouse

I am an explorer at a volunteer company in New York. Every Wednesday, I ride EMS first response with a CFR or EMT. About a week ago, the guy I was riding with was running late so I asked him if he wanted me to inventory the rig (Ford Expedition). He said sure so I got to work. I know pretty much all of the equipment because I have been riding for 4 months and over a year with another company, I also took a CFR coarse but am not yet certified. I also would ask the guy I ride with any questions if I had any. Before I was even two minutes into the inventory, this hot headed Lt. comes running out and tells me "I can't have you going through the stuff without anyone around!" I tell him I got permission from the guy I ride with but that wasn't enough and he contined B.S.ing me. This Lt. really embarrased me and throughout this and even complained to the chief and the guy I ride with. I got called into the chiefs office but didn't get in too much trouble. Things like this happen all the time at my dept. and for stupid reasons. I used to go through the engines to familliarize myself with where what was. It really was helpful but now I wont even do that anymore because I don't want a hard time. What do you think of this ?

Does the LT really *know* you well? - ie. have you worked around him enough that he is familiar with your job aptitude and character? Perhaps you guys are just experiencing one of the occasional personality conflicts that we all experience in life.