Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
    MembersZone Subscriber rualfire's Avatar

Default Side airbags / belt tensioners

Let me start by saying that I've been doing extrications for about 7 years. ~10 live extrications per year, and practice sessions quarterly.. I feel I have a good grasp on various methods of door / roof removal and dash lift/rolls. None of my training has ever indicated any awareness of airbags other than the front airbags common in most of today's vehicles. Mitigation has always been disconnect battery, and be aware of discharge times.

I've been lurking in the UofE for some time, and it has become more and more obvious to me that I do not have enough iformation about this topic.
    I've been searching the archive's for information regarding side protection / belt tensioner devices, and found a few bits.

Is there someone who can categorize the issues with un-deployed devices of these types?

From my reading:

1) Gas cylinders for these devices contain dangerous pressures, and may be located in A,B,C,D posts of vehicles, or at the base of the rear of the seats either center or rocker panel. Cutting these devices while charged is risky at best, very dangerous at worst.

2) Crushing / cutting of some parts of vehicles (front fenders, A posts) can result in damage to airbag sensor's and computers which could lead to an unplanned deployment of these devices.

3) Best practice(s) include determining the contents of interior trim before cutting either by removal or 'prying' the trim to look under. Also, de-energizing electrical systems by disconnecting and insulating the negative battery cable, and turning off the ignition.

4) Discharge times for airbag capacitors vary greatly by manufacturer and model. Seconds to minutes.

Please clarify any of these points if I've made errors or ommissions.

Are there other statements that could be made about these types of devices which I've missed?