Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
    MembersZone Subscriber

Default How do I develop officer skills?

This is directed mainly to the fire officers here, but I'd appreciate input from anyone who has some advice.

I've been a firefighter on my department for 7 years. My current goal is to become a captain on our department, but I am lacking some skills.

In the time that I've been a firefighter, I've attended virtually every training event we've had in house (twice a month) and I've seeked outside training at fire schools, other departments, etc. at every opportunity. I've received more training and have more certifications than almost any other firefighter on our department, including some of our current officers. I've become an EMT, Firefighter 2, Fire Instructor 1, Haz-Mat Technician, and I passed the Fire Instructor 2 course and exam (but did not certify at that time). I've taken two courses in incident management and will be taking a NIMS Train-the-Trainer course in a couple of months. I helped establish our very successful Explorer program and our Adopt-a-Firefighter program. I teach at various fire schools around the state and also teach for the state's Fire Service Training Bureau. The chief has told me that on paper, I am an excellent candidate for a Captain's position.