Cool A Question for those in the Rescue Field

Hello. I have a large favor to ask of anyone willing to answer, and though I wasn’t sure where to go for information, I thought I would give this place a shot.

I am an amateur writer working on a story involving a “rescue” situation, and I need information about what steps rescue workers would take in the following scenario.

Note: I KNOW the situation is a bit extreme, if not totally implausible, but I have to work within rather narrow parameters. So once you stop laughing your heads off, maybe you would still be willing to offer some advice? (Besides, “Don’t give up your day job!” )

I have two characters hanging out the window of a several story building. One is attached to a firehose, which is tied around his torso. (Yes, I know…you can start laughing now.) He is holding the other character, who is unconscious.

When rescue workers arrive (and who would handle a situation like this anyway? Firefighters? Police? Animal Rescue?) what steps might they take to help these guys out? Would they rappel down? Would they try to pull them up? Would they use a harness or something to wrap around the unconscious individual and take him away from the other character or would they fasten them both in a harness at the same time? Etc.

Any help would be appreciated… once you pick yourselves up off the floor, that is.

Thank you for any replies. And a heartfelt thank you for all the work you do!

Forum Member

I'll give a go at it. First, how high up are they? If they are within reach of a ladder truck, this would be the obvious answer. If this were not the case, I would see if I was able to access them from a window on a lower floor that they might be near. If what you are driving at is how would somebody go about performing a rope based rescue, that requires a little more work.

Because of the unlikely situation and the need for speed (because one person is phsysically holding another) some "unsafe" things might be called for.