MembersZone Subscriber

Default What About an Airbag Underwater?

Interesting question from the Coast guard.
    - - - - -
    Dear Mr. Ron Moore,

In addition to working full-time for the Coast Guard Hovercraft unit I work part-time as a Paramedic. My interest in your research includes any studies that have been done on airbag deployment underwater. As a rescue diver, part of our role is to search and rescue people from submerged vehicles. I would like to know if there is any data and testing on underwater deployment and it's effects on divers due to shock-wave effect.

My Reply- - -
    Nothing has been done that I know of or if it has been researched, the info is not available to the public.

My gut feeling...there would be no problem. I believe the resistance of the water would so overwhelm the inflation of the airbag that the diver would be safe.

Your personnel should however remain clear of the 10', 18' and 5" inflation zones of the airbags. That's 10" for the driver's bag and 18" inches for the front passenger. The 5' refers to the fact that all side impact airbags; seat, doors, and roofs, are 5" thick when inflated.

Make sure your guys are also aware of the frontal knee bags on models since 1995.
    Ron Moore, Forum Moderator
    www.universityofextrication.com

MembersZone Subscriber

Very interesting question. I would be curious to find out if after submerged the system would still work.
    In general we try not to enter the vehicle because of the hazard to the diver from entrapment/entanglement. And in my experience you can reach the interior with only limited penatration by the diver.

I also don't think that you would injured by a shockwave.

Often in a recovery we hook the car and have it removed prior to gaining access to the victim. That way we can preserve any evidence better. (recovery only if their is any chance we will get them out)

MembersZone Subscriber

BUMP, anyone find out any info on this?

Forum Member

I would be curious too