Thread: overtime pay

Default overtime pay

I worked for a small comb. dept. There were 4 paid and the rest were volunteers. I was a lieutenant/support services officer. We put in many hours beyond our normal 40 hour work week responding to emergency calls, attending training, and other meetings. Our chief told the training officer and myself that he had sent our time sheets to the districts attorney to make sure that we were being paid appropriately. Of course, we never heard what the answer was. I have talked to other paid firemen in the same situation as I was in, and they all said we had overtime pay coming.

My question is: Is there a firemens organization that would take a look at my case to see if it has any merit, as hiring an attorney would be a financial burden for me. Our department was not represented by a union, so I do not know exactly where to go from here. Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Forum Member

Since you are not represented by a Union, your best bet would be to approach your state's labor relations board. Under the freedom of information act, you should be able to get the copies of the time sheets/cards. If the administration refuses, you can take legal action to have it released. From this point... make copies of your time cards and pay sheets for your own protection.

There are four of you in this situation, correct? Are all of you getting screwed out of OT pay? Split the cost of an attorney four ways.

PS: it would be in your best interests to look into organizing an IAFF local to protect your rights. I dson't know if there is a minimum number of members needed, but maybe you could "piggyback" with another local.
    Last edited by CaptainGonzo; 03-04-2005 at 02:31 PM.