Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
    MembersZone Subscriber FireCritic's Avatar

Default Need help - looking for a low profile LDH gate valve

I am currently assigned to the ARFF company of my deparment. We serve an airport and have 2 trucks and 3 personnel per shift. I am new to this assignment as I have spent the past 6 years on an engine or truck. The M-1500 that I am assigned to has a 4.5" or 5" ( haven't measured exactly yet) intake on each side of the truck. They share a common pipe and have to T's, one to the pump and one to the tank. There is a vavle between the tank and the Intakes however it has no exterior shutoff on the truck.(to operate the valve you have to get under the truck and shut it off, not easy to get to, and it probably hasn't ever been operated). If you take the cap off the intakes you drop the tank 1500 gal. So if I were to fill up using the intake I would have to remain connected so I don't drop the tank. Both intakes are flush to the side of the truck. I need a Gate valve on the side of the truck that doesn't stick out far. Any Ideas?

Yes we have talked about putting in a lever on the outside of the truck to operate the current valve (which is present in the schematics of the truck, but not on the physical truck). However the truck is due to be replaced late this year.

The only other way of filling up is 3 2.5" intakes, 2 of which have bad valves and thus have the same problem as the 5" or don't open at all.

I appreciate any ideas.

Forum Member

I have a Harrington gate valve with a 4.5" intake and mounted to a 6" pump intake. It does not stick out quite as far as a regular piston intake valve.

Birken

Not the best suggestion...

but what about a plain old butterfly valve if all you're doing is refilling with it?
    Quote Originally Posted by ThNozzleMan