MembersZone Subscriber

Default FF physical fitness

I am enrolled at a firefighter academy and hope to get a job after compeleting it, but I am trying to get in physical shape so I am ready for the demands of academy. I was wondering if any of you could give me ideas how you stay in shape, and what areas I might want to work hardest in. thanks

MembersZone Subscriber

Hardest thing for me was the run , Im a big guy always have been 6'5" 270 lbs when I entered the academy , During fire 1 we had to run the mile and a half in under 15 minutes during fir 2 it was under 13 minutes. Half the course was uphill and half was downhill it sucked. So I ran every other day whether it be a few laps or over what Im supposed to run.
    I graduated wieghing 300lbs and loseing 4 inchs on my waist so it put alot of muscle on me. My advise to you stay hidrated and work on cardio the strenght will come into play.

I graduated form lecanto fire academy 3rd ranked fire academy in florida a sister school of the ocala state fire college.

Never give up we went from 44 students down to 17 in a month and a half kids couldnt handle the stress testing and physical there was always one small reason or another they failed out.
    " We are not extraordinary people , we are people caught in extraordinary situations. " Chapter 1 IFSTA Manual

MembersZone Subscriber

Default thanks

Thanks for the reply, i'm a big guy too. 6'4'' 245, i was an athlete in High school but i'm 24 not and WAY out of shape. my academy is a 2 week FF 1&2 haz-mat aware & ops in Kansas

MembersZone Subscriber

your academy is only 2 weeks long ??? I don't understand is it just a refresher ??? My whole ordeal was 6 months long . And plus another month to become state certified. Just wondering thanks.
    " We are not extraordinary people , we are people caught in extraordinary situations. " Chapter 1 IFSTA Manual

MembersZone Subscriber