Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Florida NREMT

MembersZone Subscriber

Default Florida NREMT

I am a Florida Firefighter 2 and a NREMT-b
    does anybody know if i can get hired before getting my Florida EMT or do i have to wait.

Also are there any departments that will hire with out EMT or are vary lenient on backgrounds?

Thanks for your help!!!!!!!!!!

Forum Member

Check out Florida State Firefighters Association website for job openings.Some departments will hire without any EMT training. South Bay has opening for reserves on that site.

MembersZone Subscriber

Some departments will require a Florida State firefighter certification to apply, while others will hire first and then train and certify applicants after they are hired. Florida is one of several states that will not accept certifications from other states. If you have been certified in another state, you can challenge the test in Florida to obtain the certification or retake the course at a Florida Fire Academy. Because all fire departments in South Florida include Emergency Medical Services (EMS), fire departments will tend to favor applicants who have successfully completed the Emergency Medical Technician (EMT) course. Some will even require an EMT certification to apply, and others will give hiring preference for it.

Since 1950, Don McNea Fire School (fireprep.com) has prepared over 40,000 fire applicants with our entry level seminars and products. Fireprep.com has over 250 pages of FREE information and careers articles to help you reach your goal of becoming a firefighter.

Go to http://www.fireprep.com/ and register for our free fireprep e-mail newsletter that currently has over 13,000 subscribers

MembersZone Subscriber