Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default If I can, then so can you!

This is for those that don't think that they can be a firefighter or even a firewoman. I am 19 year old female from Texas. I was thinking about becoming a fire firefighter in 2001. I wasn't for sure if I could do things associated with being a firefighter so I joined Dallas Fire Rescue Explorers. In this I found out that I could become a firefighter even though I am a female that is 5 foot, 6 inches tall and weighing 125 pounds. I graduated high school with the dreams of becoming a firefighter. I joined the Volunteer Fire Department in my town. I passed the physcial agility test and was on the department on June 22, 2004, 1 month after graduating high school. I am going to college to get an assoicate degree in Fire Science, I work part time at a mall, and I am also I Vounteer Firefighter. If I can do all of this then you can too. I have set my mind and my goals and I am aiming high. No one believed me 4 years ago when I thought that I wanted to be a firefighter, but today I am a firefighter. I make 75% of the calls that we have each month and I have done a lot of things that require physical strength. I might be small, but I can do it all. So, for those that don't think that they can do it, you can if I can. For those you don't believe, then you have to see to believe so see in yourself. Remember to always be safe!

Default Awesome!

Congrats first of all!

I am going through the same thing right now. I am attempting to get on with the local fire dept. I am taking my EMR course at the end of the month and I should be able to apply after I am done.