Thread: Leadership

MembersZone Subscriber

Angry Leadership

Hello

I am a volenteer firefighter looking for a foot to stand on.
    Currently on my dept. I am a Firefighter/EMT, I have been with the dept. for four years now and am having a problem with how the chain of command is put in order. Currently we have two LT's, One Cap.,One Chief, and one deputy Chief.,with 15 firefighters. My problem is one of my LT's. does not have any fire background at ALL. He says he is too busy to attend firefighter I or II and his time is very limited. The thing is that he is always too busy for training but always first on any call. What is my problem you ask? Well along with being a volenteer I am also a Career FF/EMT and someone being in command of me and my brothers that has no background is disaster in the waiting. I have been on many fire with this LT. and his lack of knowledge shows every time. I have taken this up the chain and it is a problem that if they would fix it, it would create hurt feelings. To me hurt feelings is easier to fix than a hurt brother or worse. Currently I am looking for ideas from others in command, and how they would handle the problem if it was one of their own. Please reply with answers, comments, anything!
    Last edited by Fytnfire; 03-21-2005 at 07:20 PM.

Forum Member

First word is politicks. Unfortunately you have gone up the chain of command. Does your dept elect officers are they appointed by the chief. That is a problem we have. Donít want to hurt any feelings. Beside no one here will get hurt or killed. It going to happen at every f.d. in the world. May take more time than some of us will see. But take it to a business meeting and address it to the group. Try to watch out for you and the rest of your crew. Good luck and be safe

Forum Member